Working under the conditions of social welfare: legal framework, prevalence and regulatory gaps

 

Introduction

For most people, gainful employment constitutes their most important source of income. Employment is furthermore considered a significant means of social integration. In cases of long-term unemployment, social assistance provides a minimal income once social-insurance benefits have been exhausted – it is the last safety net in the welfare state. Over the course of changing to an activating welfare state, social-assistance benefits have more and more frequently only been handed out under the condition of employment or participation in an occupational program.

Gap in existing research

What are the legal aspects of such welfare-to-work programmes? While the rules and conditions of regular employment relationships (first labour market) are rather well explored, this cannot be said about the triangular relationship between social insurance or social assistance, employer, and employee (second labour market). A particularly large gap lies in the field of welfare-to-work measures in social assistance (third labour market). The legal rules that govern such employment are essentially unknown. Furthermore, the consequences for other legal relationships and the prevalence and design of these programs have also remained unidentified.

Legal scholars in Switzerland have barely touched upon the field of social assistance. The same can be said of the emerging research in the sociology of law. Nevertheless, valuable points of reference can be found in sociological and ethnographic studies on welfare-to-work programs, which discuss inter-institutional collaboration and the relationship to the client in social insurance and social assistance.

Research plan

This project will first describe and analyse occupational welfare programs with regard to constitutional law, human rights, labour law, and employment law. It will then explore the implementation of such programs and their heterogeneity from a legal perspective. This will include investigating the actual prevalence of such programs, their possible functions from the perspective of social policy (qualification, integration, disciplining, legitimisation), and the possible need for legal action. Finally, the project will assess the existing legal framework and suggest draft legislation.

The project aims to clarify the topic from the perspectives of both legal theory and law-and-society studies (case law, mobilization of the law, actual prevalence), and aims to contextualise the results in law and political science. Concretely, the project will research the constitutional-law and human-rights frameworks for labour relationships in the first and second labour markets, and analyse and typologize the construction of cantonal welfare-to-work measures in the third labour market. This will be done from dogmatic, political-institutional, and discursive perspectives. Legal practices will be investigated through surveys in the cantons and case studies in different municipalities.

To conclude, the project will analyse if and how instruments from employment and labour law are suitable for occupational welfare programs. The project will fill the gap in legal research on the regulatory framework of employment and occupational relationships in the first, second, and third labour markets. The results will be able to serve legal practitioners (judges, lawyers) as a guide for interpreting the existing rules. They will also provide politicians with facts on welfare-to-work measures in social assistance, and highlight specific needs for federal action. The project is conceived as a contribution to legal and social research.

Duration

July 2016 – June 2019

 

Funding

This project is funded by the Swiss National Science Foundation

Travailler dans les conditions de l’aide sociale: cadre juridique, cas d’espèce et lacunes réglementaires

 

Situation initiale

Pour la plupart des gens, l’activité lucrative constitue la source de revenus la plus importante ; elle sert également de puissant moyen d’intégration sociale. En cas d’absence d’activité lucrative sur le long terme, l’aide sociale offre, après les assurances sociales, un revenu minimum comme dernier filet social. A travers la mutation de l’Etat social vers des politiques d’activation, ce revenu minimum est toutefois de plus en plus lié à la condition que le bénéficiaire participe à des programmes d’occupation ou des emplois.

Lacunes dans la recherche

Quelle est la situation juridique dans ces cas ? Alors que les règles et les conditions de travail dans le marché normal du travail (« premier marché du travail ») font l’objet de beaucoup de recherches juridiques, ce n’est pas le cas pour le travail sur le « deuxième marché du travail » (relations « triangulaires » entre l’assurance sociale et/ou l’aide sociale – l’employeur – le travailleur). Le plus grand flou se situe toutefois au niveau des rapports juridiques dans le cadre des programmes d’occupation mis en place dans le cadre de l’aide sociale (« troisième marché du travail »). A quelles conditions juridiques ces prestations de travail dans le cadre de l’aide sociale se déroulent-elles, quelles conséquences ont-elles sur d’autres rapports de droit ? Quelle ampleur ont ces différents arrangements en pratique ? Les réponses à ces questions sont pratiquement inexistantes. En Suisse, la doctrine juridique et la recherche naissante en sociologie du droit ne se préoccupent que très peu du droit de l’aide sociale.

On trouve des points d’ancrages précieux dans quelques études – à l’orientation sociologique et ethnographique – sur les programmes d’occupation, sur les rapports avec la clientèle et sur la collaboration inter-institutionnelle des assurances sociales et de l’aide sociale. Notre projet de recherche s’intéresse en premier lieu au cadre constitutionnel et de droit du travail des programmes d’occupation de l’aide sociale. En second lieu, nous nous intéressons à l’aménagement concret des conditions juridiques de ces programmes et à leur hétérogénéité. En troisième lieu, nous nous pencherons sur leur diffusion dans la pratique et leur possibles fonctions socio-politiques (qualification, intégration, discipline, légitimation) et les mesures juridiques à prendre. Enfin, en dernier lieu, nous examinerons et proposerons d’éventuelles modifications législatives, dans la mesure où elles sont nécessaires.

Plan de recherche

Dans le cadre du projet, nous procéderons à des clarifications de théorie juridique et effectuerons des recherches juridiques et sociologiques (jurisprudence, mobilisation juridique, ampleur concrète) ainsi qu’une contextualisation juridique et socio-politique des résultats. Concrètement, nous examinerons la superstructure constitutionnelle et de droits humains qui encadre les rapports de travail dans les premier et deuxième marchés du travail. Nous analyserons la mise en place des programmes d’occupation de l’aide sociale (troisième marché du travail) dans les cantons et proposerons une typologie de ces programmes, sous l’angle de la théorie du droit, de la politique institutionnelle et des aspects discursifs. La pratique juridique dans les cantons sera répertoriée par un questionnaire et complétée par des études de cas plus approfondies dans différentes communes.

De plus, la jurisprudence sera analysée. Enfin, nous examinerons si et dans quelle mesure il se justifierait de transposer aux programmes d’occupation les réglementations de droit du travail et leurs instruments de contrôle. Le projet se propose de combler une lacune dans la recherche juridique concernant la réglementation des programmes de travail et d’occupation dans les premier, deuxième et troisième marchés du travail. Pour la pratique juridique (en particulier pour les tribunaux), les résultats de l’étude fourniront des outils d’interprétations. Pour les responsables politiques, l’étude fournira des faits objectifs sur les programmes d’occupation de l’aide sociale et mettra en évidence les mesures à prendre dans le contexte fédéral. Le projet constitue donc un apport à la recherche juridique et sociale au sens large.

 

Durée

Juillet 2016 – juin 2019

 

Financement

Financé par le Fonds national suisse de la Recherche scientifique